Welcome to SharaineGloverSpeaks

Panola Mountain

Panola Mountain

Welcome to the inaugural blog of SharaineGloverSpeaks.  I am excited to share with you the world as I see it.  The Audience of the Everyday Life.  You and I are the audience and each of us see life through the lenses God has given us.  Our race, religion, sexual orientation and value systems shape our lenses in a particular way, but this should not limit our view.  It is up to each of us to expand our view and look at the world through the lenses of others without judgment.  When we seek to expand our view, we create new levels of understanding that add perspective and dimension to own our lives.

If you are like me, I strive to understand the world I live in allowing my road map to create itself.  We each chose the freeway, the highway or a dirt road and ultimately it determines our final destination. The pursuit of knowledge and understanding is like a long journey that starts at birth and ends when we chose to close off our minds.  At times, we run into dead ends or construction zones.  Sometimes, we are caught in a traffic jam or find ourselves on a lonely highway and that’s OK. To put it simply, the journey is not always easy.  What is important is that we don’t allow others to impede our progress. That often calls for switching lanes, changing our mode of transportation and telling someone your ride ends here.   It can be scary and exhilarating at the same time.  Our beliefs will be challenged or maybe our own prejudices exposed, but we can be liberated from old ways of thinking and that gives us new insight as we approach the issues of life.  As others cross our paths, we can be immensely blessed by what they have to offer or heed the warning signs of a life allowed to spiral out of control, but we have to open ourselves to these experiences and opportunities in order to grow into a better version of ourselves.  Don’t let your fears immobilize you or others demoralize you.  You are in the driver’s seat and if you are not then take control.  Be your own driver and decide your own path and know that when you do you accept responsibility for your life and there is no one to blame.

I recently went on a hike and took in a wonderful site on the top Panola Mountain.  As our tour guide took us along the granite rock and identified outcrops and shrubbery I suddenly remembered how I was once interested in nature and conservation efforts.  It took me back to the time between my junior and senior year in college.  I had just changed my major and began to take the courses for my new major when I came across a degree program called Resource Conservation.  I was immediately drawn to the curriculum because I had been recycling and was passionate about efforts to conserve our resources and protect the environment.  I felt I had found my calling and could have a career that aligned with my personal beliefs.  I wanted to change my major and pursue this career path, but then I looked at the number of courses I would have to take and the prerequisites required and realized it took me beyond the four-year college plan that my parents expected me to follow.  I also considered that I had a full-time job as an insurance underwriter waiting for me when I finished my studies.  I thought about my parents and potential employer and decided against what I knew was right for me.  I gave in and let the expectations of others dictate my path and I paid the price for it as I was unhappy for many years thereafter.  As we walked the mountain on the hike that day I became very sad because I deprived myself of a career that I really wanted.  The frustration and unfulfilled hope was my own creation and it took many years to be honest with myself and accept responsibility for my choices.

Panola Mountain

Panola Mountain

This is not only my story, but the story of many others who through parents, an employer or any number of reasons make choices for ourselves that abort our own dreams.  We can never get back the time we’ve lost, but we can make a conscious choice to make the most of our time going forward.  Getting back on track is not as easy as making a U-turn especially when we consider our current responsibilities, but just like any huge ship we can change the course of our lives over time.  My end of life goal is to look back and have no regrets.  If I did it and failed then at least I am free of thinking about what could have been.  So please join me on this journey as I explore the Everyday Life and change the course of my life.  I will share with you my personal ups and downs and will invite others to share their experiences as well. My commitment to you is that I will bring my world to you honestly and I hope by sharing my own experiences you will be enriched in the process.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by A Fan on May 1, 2013 at 4:52 pm

    Congratulations!! Keep up the good work!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Gloria on May 4, 2013 at 12:33 pm

    This really hit home for me (many regrets). Thanks for sharing your story and I am looking for to the journey. GOD’s speed

    Reply

    • Thanks for your support. If you would like to receive updates via email, please sign-up on my homepage. You will be sent a confirmation email to activate the subscription.

      Take care,

      Sharaine

      Reply

Leave a Reply

