Keep It Moving

Lulu Lake Clouldland Canyon 057

If you are not familiar with Murphy’s Law then see the refresher below:

“Anything that can possibly go wrong, does.”

This could not be more true than at the most inopportune moment for something to go wrong.  Admittedly, I’ve been guilty of more than one meltdown when something has gone wrong.  The expletives, the spinning in circles, the hands thrown in the air…yeah, you know the routine.  When I’ve exhausted myself from my emotional outburst, I catch sight of the calmer head that immediately regroups and formulates a plan despite the setback.  They know how to “keep it moving.”

I’d love to say this is my first reaction, but it’s not.  I migrate to it later, but there is something to be said for those calmer heads.  Recently on a waterfall hike, I witnessed someone else’s meltdown.  It wasn’t pretty.  Emotions were running high.  It was definitely a frustrating situation and the whole group got caught up in the emotion.  The key take away for me is that negativity is contagious and is an impediment to progress.  Looking up at the beautiful waterfall helped me put it all in perspective.  The water never gets upset for going over the edge.  It lands at the bottom of the pool and keeps moving!!

Leave a Reply

